Ballwinder Woes

April 25, 2010 at 6:21 pm 2 comments

So, this afternoon, I busted my ballwinder.

I was balling some of the Malabrigo Sock I mentioned in the previous post, and it wasn’t doing what I wanted it to do, so I got frustrated, hit it a few times, and then, when I tried to use it again, the handle snapped off.

I did what any other frustrated knitter would do, and immediately unclamped it from my desk and threw it across the room.

(Okay, maybe that was just MY reaction, but I’d like to think that other frustrated knitters would have done the same.)

I initially felt horrible (because this ballwinder was a Christmas present from my parents) and called my mom all upset and apologized for breaking something that was a gift. My mom just said, “Well, now you get to get something new!”

So, devoted (read: nonexistent) blog readers, which ballwinder should I get?

I had a used Royal ballwinder before I got the KnitPicks one for Christmas, and despite being slightly busted (I got it as a hand-me-down from Dani when she got her super-monster of a baller) it worked well. I’ve run across Lacis ballwinders that seem comparable, but for half the price of a Royal.

I am 100% NOT interested in one of the Nancy’s Knit Knacks winders. I don’t need a giant wood contraption. Plastic is cool with me.

Leave me a comment with your preferred ballwinder!

ps: I’ve had a super-crafty-failure weekend. Give me some ideas for instant-gratification-super-easy projects to shake me out of this funk!

Entry filed under: supplies.

Yarn, design, and poll! Chutes and Ladders

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kreachr  |  May 6, 2010 at 2:12 pm

    Ball winders are only $20 at KnitPicks – that’s pretty good right? In New Zealand you can’t get them new for less than $60. I envy you.

    Reply
  • 2. SubtleFire  |  June 15, 2010 at 6:38 pm

    I have one from Joann’s (40% coupon, yay!) that has served me well for about two years, despite having no brand attached to it that I can find. If I was in the market for one now, I think I would go for a KnitPicks just because their stuff is always good, and I’m always ordering from them anyway. I don’t love the purple a lot, but I can put up with it for cheap and functional.

    Dishcloths are great for instant gratification. Fast, useful, and the yarn is cheap. If you don’t need another one for yourself, stash it away until the next baby shower or housewarming that comes along, then make it part of a nice gift. Chemo caps are also relatively fast, and great for putting my troubles into perspective.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


April 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Oct »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Archives


