FO: Waterbender Hat

September 3, 2009 at 5:42 pm 3 comments

IMG_6252

Okay, let’s be honest here, yall. I AM NOT A REAL ADULT.

I may fake it on the outside, but inside … I am an awkward, quirky, obnoxious little child.

So when my dear roommate Jessica suggested we start watching an older Nickelodeon show called Avatar: The Last Airbender, of course I consented. It was animated, for chrissakes! I couldn’t pass it up.

Shortly into the first season (we have all 3 seasons on DVD) it became clear that this was a new obsession that I simply couldn’t escape. I loved everything about it: the characters were funny, one of the voice-actors was on Arrested Development, it had the child-who-has-a-responsibility-to-save-the-world-and-is-angsty-about-it, and it had characters that could throw fire WITH THEIR FEET. (I WANT TO BE ABLE TO DO THAT!)

So, obviously I started thinking about knitting something related to the show. There are 4 different types of Benders in the show: Water, Earth, Fire, and Air, to correspond with the 4 elements. The Avatar, Aang, who is angsty about saving the world, is the master of all 4 elements, and he has to use them to defeat the Fire Lord, who is trying to take over the world.

In order to master all 4 elements, Aang must learn them all in a specific order. Aang is an Airbender by birth, so he has to learn Water, Earth, and Fire in that order.

I decided to design a set of 4 hats to correspond with the different Bending styles, and I decided to do it in the order that Aang has to learn the other Bending styles.

IMG_6245

Aang had to learn Waterbending first, so it’s the first hat I designed.

IMG_6248

I used half the chart from Knitty’s Swell for the waves. I used Poems again (because apparently, I am obsessed) and clever readers will already have realized that the MC is the same as the one I used for my IRK hat!

IMG_6250

(This next paragraph relates, I promise.)

The Harry Potter Knit/Crochet House Cup (hereafter known as HPKCHC or just House Cup) started its fall term on Ravelry this week, and I am very glad to be returning for my 3rd term as a Hufflepuff! One of the classes this month is Charms, and the assignment is to study to Aguamenti Charm, create something water related, be it colours, waves etc. I proposed an idea in my House’s Common Room: would another ‘Puff be willing to test-knit my hat pattern and count is as their Charms assignment? I had 2 responses, so I typed up the pattern and posted it to this blog in a password-protected post and PM’d the people who expressed interest. (If you’re interested in seeing the pattern before I release it, shoot me an email and I’ll send you the password.)

IMG_6249

So, Water is done. Earth is next, and I need to do some practice before I get started on it. I have an awesome idea for the Earthbender hat, but it involves using a technique I’ve never done before, so practicing is necessary.

Happy Bending, everybody.

IMG_6242

Entry filed under: fo, patterns. Tags: .

FO: My Floppy Hat (& WIPs!) THIS IS MY NIGHTMARE

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kristin  |  September 6, 2009 at 7:00 am

    Oh my god, that is so, so adorable. I love it!

    Reply
  • 2. Beth  |  October 7, 2009 at 11:25 am

    You’re my hero. The End.

    I’m going to try learning to knit with a local “crafts community” that’s a few miles from my house.

    AKA, WE MIGHT BE KNITTING BUDDIES SOON!

    Reply
  • 3. Steph  |  November 21, 2009 at 6:01 am

    I love your hat! I am also a fan of Avatar, and I can’t wait to see what you do next. It looks like a pretty straightforward pattern, but what a great idea!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


September 2009
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Archives


