FOs, WIPs, and PIMPs

January 13, 2009 at 8:12 am 1 comment

I have more things to share!

First is a scarf that was actually meant to be a WIP in this post. But! I finished and blocked it last night.

010409-to-010609-0121

Purple Fan Scarf using leftoever Palette I had from KK’s Phineas socks. CO 36, 2 repeats of fan stitch pattern. Very good mindless knitting.

It is going to be sent to Jessica’s sister Jonnie (whose favorite color is purple) for her 19th birthday.

010409-to-010609-013

Next is my project for the Harry Potter Knitting/Crochet House Cup over on Ravelry.

010409-to-010609-007

This is my project for Charms class. Our assingment is the Patronus charm: either as a messenger, or as a comfort/depression treatment (the explicit directions were to “make something that would make us happy”); I chose the “comfort” aspect.

The pattern is Serenity, by Laura Wilson-Martos. I have been wanting to knit this blanket for about 8 months, ever since I first discovered the pattern. But then I had to do Christmas knitting, and I had a dye lot fiasco, but when the HPKCHC Charms class came along, I KNEW that this would be my project. The pattern is simply glorious, and Laura was kind enough to help me out when I accidentally misread a line, messaged her on Ravelry, and then felt like an idiot when I realized my simple mistake.

I’m about 1/5 of the way done, I think. (I’m inclined to underestimate my progress, so that when it takes longer than I think it will, I won’t be disappointed.) I bought 6 balls of yarn for it and just broke out the 2nd ball last night.

010409-to-010609-009

Also, this project is now MUCH farther along than the picture would lead you to believe. I took the pictures after the first day of knitting this project, which was Jan 4th, I think. It is getting more and more difficult to photograph because it just keeps growing. I am almost to the point of needing to switch circulars because the one I am currently using is too short.

I. LOVE. THIS. PROJECT.

Finally, I need to advertise. My dear friend Dani is hosting a little contest. Her sock club, Rock Your Socks Off (link to etsy), is about to get underway, and she wants YOUR ideas for bands/artists/colorways/etc that YOU (yeah, YOU!) would want to see in a sock club. The winner gets a choice of an existing colorway from Dani’s etsy shop, or they can have their suggested colorway dyed especially for them by Dani! What a sweet deal!!

As a frequent recipient of Dyed by DaniDo yarn, I can tell you that this sock club is going to be a lot of fun. So, get going, knitters! Reserve yourself a spot in the club using the esty link above, and go email Dani about your colorway ideas!

Entry filed under: fo, house cup, wip. Tags: , .

great big FO post FO: Serenity Now!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Daniella  |  January 13, 2009 at 1:37 pm

    a) the scarf is gorgeous and even though I’m sick of Feather and Fan I think that’s going to be my go to scarf pattern from here on out because it’s gorgeous in just about every yarn I’ve seen it in. b) the blanket is fantastic, I kind of want to knit one now and I have never had the urge to knit a blanket before ever. Also I think the House Cup thing is an awesome idea and it seems really cool. c) your pimping skills are superior my friend. ❤

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


January 2009
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Archives


