the goodship failure

December 11, 2008 at 8:16 am Leave a comment

Hey! I am Laura, Captain of the Failboat. Seriously.

I blame my Winter Concert. It has been sucking my will to knit, among other things, but now that it’s done (it was last night, December 10th, and it went really well!) I can post about knitting stuff!

I have been working on Christmas presents. I really have. I have things knit for everyone in my family, with the exception of Mom’s, which I am 90% done with. I’m about 75% done with KK’s second knitted gift, and have plans for Rachel’s, I just have to buckle down and get them done.

This means that I haven’t been working on stuff for me. Yeah, I did the sweater. And yeah, I did the neckwarmer. But I haven’t progressed on anything since. It still have 1.5 Mardi Gras Socks done, and I still have a ways to go on the Marie Club Socks. Christmas knitting has sucked my will to knit for any other purpose.

I say “sucked my will to …” but it should really be along the lines of “consumed my attention,” because knitting can’t really suck the will out of anything. It’s too fun for that.

OH! THE MOST EXCITING THING EVER: I signed up for the “Hogwarts Knitting/Crochet House Cup” on Ravelry! I CANNOT WAIT. Two of my favorite things combined: 1) knitting, and 2) the Harry Potter fandom!

For this, we are sorted into Houses, and I hope to be put in Hufflepuff. It was my first choice. Also, we have “classes,” which are essentially challenges, and we earn House Points. So, for Herbology last term, the assignment was to make a dishcloth out of hemp or a organic/natural fiber. I CANNOT WAIT FOR THIS TO START! The Winter Term starts in January. I cannot wait, it’s going to be so awesome.

Now that my concert is over, I feel that a lot more knitting will happen. HOPEFULLY!

Last thing: I like this layout, but I need a custom header. Ideas, anyone? My computer with Photoshop is on the fritz, so it will be a while before I can make one, but I want some ideas.

Entry filed under: christmas knits, house cup. Tags: , .

PATTERN: Aubergine Dreams Neckwarmer great big FO post

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


December 2008
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Archives


