FO: Grand Canyon Beanie

November 4, 2008 at 3:58 pm 3 comments

110108-grand-canyon-roadtrip-013

I finished something! A lovely hat for my sister for Christmas. (MOM, IF YOU READ THIS, DO NOT SHOW IT TO RACHEL.)

Specs:

Project: Grand Canyon Beanie (link to my Ravelry page)
Pattern: Spring Beret, by Natalie Larson (Ravelry link!)
Yarn: Caron Simply Soft
Mods: Well, I did NOT do everything according to the pattern. I tend to do that. Because of this tendency, this beret turned into a beanie. Still super awesome and super cute, but definitely not a beret. I used a lighter weight yarn, and smaller needles. I didn’t change needle sizes for the lace portion, like the pattern indicated. I also fudged the cast on number and increases to make it fit the gauge that I got.

110108-grand-canyon-roadtrip-024

110108-grand-canyon-roadtrip-015

I loved this pattern. I will definitely be making one for me in a more slouchy style. The lace pattern is great, and it was a really simple knit. (When I was paying attention. There is one repeat of the pattern that is just FUNKY, because I was distracted.)

Titled “Grand Canyon Beanie” because I finished it on our Epic Roadtrip Through Most Of Majestic Arizona. I decided it would be REALLY COOL to finish it and take pictures of it at the Grand Canyon. And I succeeded!

110108-grand-canyon-roadtrip-019110108-grand-canyon-roadtrip-020

Entry filed under: fo. Tags: .

death eaters, come on let’s dance i have no title.

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Daniella  |  November 4, 2008 at 5:17 pm

    GORGEOUS! My modeling leaves something to be desired though you look fabulous. Of course. ❤

    Reply
  • 2. pamma  |  December 15, 2008 at 6:01 pm

    your version of this hat turned out great!
    I am about to start this project myself and I am fascinated by all the different versions.
    BTW, how will you ever keep such a cute hat a secret from your sister!?

    Reply
    • 3. Laura!  |  December 15, 2008 at 6:33 pm

      My dear sister chooses to neglect my knitting blog, HAHA. The only one who ever checks is my mom, really.

      Don’t forget to post pictures of your hat!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


November 2008
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Archives


