ARGHLSDKA

April 1, 2008 at 8:09 pm 4 comments

FRUSTRATION.

I turned the heel of my second sock last night. All was fine until about an hour ago, when i saw that I’d dropped a stitch … BEFORE THE HEEL.

I used a crochet hook to pick it up, but it created this ridge, which I didn’t like. So I ripped.

Everything would’ve been fine if I’d been able to pick the stitches back up cleanly. But it was not meant to be. The stitches were all tight, and I couldn’t get them to the other side of the needle. So I used my desk as leverage, and tried to un-tighten the stitches by pushing them down the needle. I figured, hey, y’know, gravity works.

THE NEEDLE SNAPPED. My nice wood sock needle SNAPPED. Thank goodness I’m not using the knitpicks set I thought about buying. Well, actually, no. BECAUSE THEN I’D HAVE AN EXTRA.

I can’t get to Knit Las Vegas to buy another set until Monday, because why waste gas when I’m going out there on Monday anyway?

Any suggestions for how I can salvage what I have left for about a week? HELP!

The first sock is done, though. Here’s a couple pictures:

img_3917.jpg    img_3919.jpg   img_3918.jpg

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

catastrophe! the world is my knitting april fool’s joke

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kaitlen  |  April 1, 2008 at 9:53 pm

    Oh noes!! I think we’re going to KLV tomorrow instead of ReJavanate because they’re having that yarn-tasting party thing, so you could get more needles if you wanted to.

    I realized I have the same ankle thing you do when I finished my socks the other night…my ankles are chunky or something, the cast-off barely fit over my heel. I think you just have really skinny feet though – I think my problem is cankles LOL 😛

    Reply
  • 2. Laura!  |  April 1, 2008 at 10:12 pm

    DAMN! I can’t even go tomorrow because I have my last New Teacher Class! Woe is me! I think I’m going to get metal needles this time, because the wood ones were driving me a little crazy.

    HAHAHA, I’m glad my feet aren’t the only ones that are funky! Even with the increases I did, my cast off still barely fits over my heel.

    Reply
  • 3. christina  |  April 2, 2008 at 8:19 am

    boo!

    everytime i see your socks, my heart melts because they are totally you! 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Daniella  |  April 2, 2008 at 10:05 am

    What size do you need? I have a set of metal sock needles that I don’t ever use. OR I can pick you up a pair at KLV tonight and get them to you tomorrow or Friday when I’ll see you, I’m sure.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


April 2008
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Archives


