thoughts/plans/ideas

March 15, 2008 at 12:30 pm 4 comments

So, Dani recently gave me about 9 balls of Debbie Bliss Cotton DK in a really awesome orange color. I wanted to make something wearable with it, because I LOVE being able to wear my cardigan around and I’m really proud to tell people that I made it.

I looked up the yarn on Ravelry, and a lot of people had made the Rusted Root pullover (Ravelry link) with that yarn. Here’s the link to the website, where I can purchase it for $5.50.

The more I look at the projects on Ravelry, the more I REALLY want to make it. A few things are troubling me, though.

  • I’ve never purchased a pattern before
  • I’ve never done lace before, and it has a lace panel
  • I’ve never knit really anything big in the round

By “big” I mean, “bigger than fingerless mitts, or socks.” Not even hats. I’ve only really made one hat, and it was knit on US15 straights, because I don’t have circs bigger than US11. Sidenote: I should probably order the bigger Harmony tips to go with my set. Hmmm.

I’m really, REALLY strongly considering buying the pattern. I really love looking at all the FOs on Ravelry, and I want mine to be there, too! I even found one that was made in the same yarn, in the same color! I was like, “That’s what MINE would look like!” So, well see.

Also! We’re flying to New Orleans today! I’m completely done packing. In fact, OVERpacking, which I always do. And I’m taking some knitting that I need to get done before the end of March. I called both airlines that we’re flying with, and both said that I could bring knitting needles, so YAY!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

FO: Quant II catastrophe!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Daniella  |  March 15, 2008 at 1:50 pm

    If you need the bigger tips, I have the US13 tips, and you’re welcome to borrow them if you don’t want to buy them right away. I never use them for anything since I knit in ridiculously tiny gauge these days. πŸ™‚

    I just looked to see because I thought I had already bought the Rusted Root pattern, but I didn’t. I bought the Wicked pattern.

    Though, I was thinking about it and I think you should look at the ‘Bad Penny’ pattern by Glampyre too, because I think that would be good yarn for it too.

    Reply
  • 2. Kaitlen  |  March 15, 2008 at 10:16 pm

    You should totally do it! I’m wanting to make it too, but I don’t have any yarn that isn’t wool πŸ˜›

    Reply
  • 3. christina  |  March 16, 2008 at 10:41 am

    you have to make it! it is so freaking cute and it would look totally awesome on you.

    have fun on your trip! i don’t know how to do the cute little faces so πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 4. Loraine  |  March 31, 2008 at 10:36 am

    You can do anything, just follow the directions and ask for help when you have questions. Remember, the only stupid question is the one not asked. πŸ™‚
    loraine alias simra on the web

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


March 2008
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Archives


