new addiction?

February 2, 2008 at 11:42 pm 9 comments

Sock knitting takes so much math.

I got some sock needles and yarn today at Knit Las Vegas, which just opened today! The yarn is Tofutsies, which I am very excited about because it is in the craziest, brightest colors EVER.

I also got 3 balls of Karaoke, which are all also brightly colored. I was only going to get two, then Kaitlen picked up another ball, said, “Hey, this looks like you,” so, of course I had to get it.

Entry filed under: yarn.

christmas scarves (and other things i’ve been knitting) (blank) it to me!

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. whorledandpurled  |  February 3, 2008 at 12:17 am

    Did you start your socks yet? ๐Ÿ˜›

    Reply
  • 2. Laura!  |  February 3, 2008 at 12:43 am

    No, not yet! I did all the math, though! I’m trying to figure out the crochet cast-on in my head before I actually do it.

    In the meantime, though, I mopped my kitchen and broke my garbage disposal. HAHA.

    Reply
  • 3. whorledandpurled  |  February 3, 2008 at 4:02 am

    Haha garbage disposals suck!

    The crochet cast-on is easy…except for the fact that i have to pick up stitches, which I hate and avoid like the plague. I usually end up doing a figure-8 cast on and just increasing at the beginning and end of each row until I get up to 64 stitches…it doesn’t look quite as nice as a short-row toe, but it’s easy and I’m lazy! ๐Ÿ˜›

    Reply
  • 4. Daniella  |  February 3, 2008 at 12:54 pm

    Crochet cast on is easy! Chain two more than the amount of stitches you need then pick up the stitches in the loop part of the chain for your number of stitches.

    Good luck with the socks AND the garbage disposal. If you get stuck on the crochet cast on, let me know and I’ll show you how the next time I see you. โค

    Reply
  • 5. Laura!  |  February 3, 2008 at 2:30 pm

    I think the only thing I’m concerned about with the cast-on is the waste yarn. Do I use scrap yarn or the yarn I’m going to use for the rest of the sock?

    Reply
  • 6. whorledandpurled  |  February 5, 2008 at 10:07 pm

    No no, use scrap yarn – Red Heart, whatever crap yarn you have lying around ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  • 7. Daniella  |  February 7, 2008 at 9:29 pm

    Where is this new post where you show us the sock progression? HUH?

    Reply
  • 8. Kaitlen  |  February 7, 2008 at 11:00 pm

    Yeah, I wanna see some SOCKAGE!!

    Reply
  • 9. Laura!  |  February 7, 2008 at 11:20 pm

    I JUST POSTED IT! YAAAAAAAAAY.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


February 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
242526272829  

Archives


